Hazardous Waste & Paper Shredding

No fee to participate. Identification is required.

Free Local Paper Shredding Event

  • June 4: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - Colchester-East Hampton Water Pollution Control Facility, 20 Gildersleeve Drive, East Hampton
  • June 25: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - Westbrook Town Hall, 866 Boston Post Road, Westbrook
  • September 24: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - Middlefield Community Center, 405 Main Street, Middlefield
  • October 15: Saturday, 9 am to 12 pm - Chester Town Hall, 203 Middlesex Avenue, Chester

Limit of 5 boxes or bags (9 inches by 18 inches by 12 inches) of personal papers, such as medical records, legal or financial documents, and tax returns.

No junk mail, magazines, books, cards, envelopes, metal ring-binders etc. will be accepted.

Free Household Hazardous Waste Local Collection Event

  • April 23: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Clinton Public Works Garage, 117 Nod Road, Clinton
  • May 14: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Colchester-East Hampton Water Pollution Control Facility, 20 Gildersleeve Drive, East Hampton
  • June 18: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Lyme/Old Lyme Middle School, 49 Lyme Street, Old Lyme
  • July 16: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Woodside Intermediate School, 30 Woodside Road, Cromwell
  • August 20: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Haddam Elementary School, 272 Saybrook Road, Higganum
  • September 17: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Middlesex Community College, 100 Training Hill Road, Middletown
  • October 1: Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm - Haddam Elementary School, 272 Saybrook Road, Higganum